Abir's Annual Show

First Take 2024

FIRST TAKE 2024 is about celebrating works of young artists. Curated from across India, the works will be exhibited . This is ABIR’s big initiative to provide a platform and showcase the art of the generation next.
If you are a young artist and believe in your work, this is meant for you. Out of scores of entries, about 100 works would be picked by the eminent jury from India. The jury will select the best out of the lot and ten awards in total are awarded.
The show will also bring art lovers together, with dialogues, discussions and demonstrations with senior artists, art historians, art critics, curators and investors.

Eminent Jury Members of First Take 2023

Akhilesh Varma

Born in August 1956 at Indore. Diploma in Painting from Indore School of Art ..

Dr. Nuzhat Kazmi

An Art Historian and an Art Educator who superannuated recently...

Murali Cheeroth

Born at Thrissur district in Kerala (India), in 1966, Murali Cheeroth is...

Shampa Shah

Shampa Shah’s practice in clay is located in the dialogue between...

Vasudha Thozhur

Vasudha Thozhur was born in 1956 in Mysore. She studied at the College...

Eminent Jury Members of First Take 2022

Manjunath Kamath

Manjunath Kamath pursued Bachelor in Fine Arts in Mysore ...

Jayaram Poduval

Jayaram Poduval is an Asst. Professor at Maharaja Sayajirao University, Baroda

Manisha Parekh

Manisha Parekh, born in 1964, pursued her Bachelor’s in Fine Arts


Born in 1970 in Sindgi of Bijapur district in Karnataka

Ramesh Vedhanbatla

V. Ramesh, born in 1958 in Andhra Pradesh, pursued his Bachelor of Fine Arts ...

Eminent Jury Members of First Take 2021

Hartmut Wurster

Hartmut Wurster was born in Germany and studied architecture at the

Kristine Michael

Kristine Michael is a ceramic artist, arts educator, researcher and

Rm. Palaniappan

Rm. Palaniappan born 1957, Devakottai, Tamil Nadu, is an alumnus

K. S. Radhakrishnan

K. S. Radhakrishnan was born in Kottayam, Kerala, in 1956. He went to

Vasudevan Akkitham

Vasudevan Akkitham was born at Kumaranallur, Kerala in 1958. He

Eminent Jury Members of First Take 2019

Brinda Miller

Brinda Miller is a celebrated and well- known Fine Artist who

Jayanti Rabadia

Jayanti Rabadia- one of India’s eminent artists whose work is widely

Subodh Kerkar

Rm. Palaniappan born 1957, Devakottai, Tamil Nadu, is an alumnus

Veer Munshi

Artist/curator born in Srinagar Kashmir, he studied fine arts (painting)

Umang Hutheesing

Umang Hutheesing is the scion of one of the India’s most historical family, he

Eminent Jury Members of First Take 2018

Amit Ambalal

Amit Ambalal (b.1943) lives and works in Ahmedabad, India. He qualified in

Muzaffar Ali

Muzaffar Ali is a filmmaker, fashion designer, poet, artist, music-lover,

Ravinder Reddy

Ravinder Reddy – one of India’s eminent artists is recognized for his

Seema Kohli

Seema Kohli is an artist thriving on imagination, ideas, philosophies,

Vijay Bagodi

Vijay Bagodi is one of the celebrated artists whose artwork reflects

Eminent Jury Members of First Take 2017

Johny ML

Johny ML is a writer, translator, art historian, art critic,

Manu Parekh

Born in 1939 in Gujarat, Manu Parekh completed a Diploma in

Madhvi Parekh

Madhvi Parekh, born in 1942 in Sanjaya, a village in Gujarat, is

Walter D’souza

Known primarily for his practice in the print medium- wood

Eminent Jury Members of First Take 2016

Vrindavan Solanki

Vrindavan Solanki is a prolific Indian master artist recognized

Mallika Sarabhai

Mallika Sarabhai is one of India’s leading choreographers and

Karl Antao

Karl Antao -from Mumbai he had studied at Sir J.J. Institute of

Pavan Bakeri

Managing Director - Bakeri Group; Technologist and Arts